Tahini Yogurt Sauce

Guys, my love of roasted vegetables knows no bounds. Like, I’m pretty sure that I would be perfectly happy for a really long time to eat nothing but roasted vegetables. But I can’t have everything I write about be about roasted vegetables, so for this I’m choosing to highlight the tahini yogurt sauce that I smothered my roasted vegetables in recently.

I forget what inspired me to make this. It was probably something like, “Oh, I want roasted vegetables. Again.” Followed by: “I should probably also have some protein. Let’s roast some chicken thighs. Oh and you know, I have a shit ton of leftover lettuce from the salad bar lunch we prepared to celebrate my boss’s upcoming baby arrival. I like putting tahini on roasted vegetables, but I need something more… liquidy… to put on a salad. What can I mix with tahini? Yogurt? Yeah, okay. Oh yeah, and I have frozen cauliflower rice in the freezer I could thaw and put on this and it’ll sorta be like a ‘grain’ salad.” Anyway, turns out it was delicious, and I have made this yogurt tahini sauce several times since then.

 

You can google yogurt tahini sauce (like I just did) and find any number of recipes. I unfortunately can’t remember which one I used originally, but I don’t think I followed it exactly then (I may have doubled the tahini because, um, delicious) and haven’t looked it up again since. It was something like:

  • 3/4 – 1 cup of plain yogurt (Greek would probably taste the best and be a good consistency, but I usually eat plain grass-fed yogurt [like Maple Hill Creamery’s which I can find at my local Harris Teeter] and I don’t think I’ve ever seen grass-fed Greek  yogurt. And yes, I know the yogurt itself is not grass-fed.)
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2-4 tbsp tahini
  • salt
  • pepper
  • green onion (both the green and white parts) or shallot

Mix it all together and slather some on those roasted vegetables (in this case broccoli, asparagus, and brussels sprouts), cauliflower rice, chicken, and lettuce. Yum. Or just use it as a dipping sauce for whatever.

The second time I made this, I doubled the recipe and stored the leftover in the fridge for a few days. It got more and more tart (in a good way) as the days went on. I wondered if the yogurt was curdling… but I googled and became maybe 70% sure that I wasn’t creating anything dangerous. I feel like I need to spend more time looking into this. In the meantime, if you know any real science in this area, let me know, and until then, maybe eat this all in one go.

Leave a Reply

