Plans for Posole

Posole(pozole) is traditional holiday food in some places in Mexico, as well as in New Mexico. I was treated to some white posole while in Albuquerque last week. I plan to make posole rojo on New Years Eve or New Years Day this year, which I’ve done before, but apparently not for several years. I had trouble finding the recipe I’ve used (which I recall, I cobbled together after looking at various other recipes), but I finally did! I wrote it in a Word document with a file name: my first attempt at posole 060611 (meaning it’s from June of 2011. I can’t wait to make it. I might make a few variations from what I have below, but I do recall it being quite good. I was pretty new at cooking then, as you’ll see. This is what it says:

My first attempt at posole

  1. Make a red chili sauce (2:45 pm)

I bought 4 red chilis.  I didn’t know enough about different kinds of chilis to even know if they were dried, even though they were thin and papery.  But I thought that’s just how they might be.  I googled peppers and have finally determined that they are dried California chilis.  Apparently, both California chilis and New Mexican chilis are Anaheim chilis, but when grown in California, they are more mild than those grown in NM.  After looking at a few posole recipes, I decided to cook and make a sauce out of the red chilis first.

Ingredients:

  • 4 dried red New Mexican or California chilis*
  • 1 onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • ~ 2tbsp olive oil
  • dash of salt
  • two pinchfuls of oregano (all recipes call for Mexican oregano, but I don’t have that, nor do I know what it is)
  • 1.5 c. chicken broth

Steps:

Dice and sauté onion in oil in Dutch oven on the stove (over medium or low/medium heat).  (This time, I also diced and sautéed the top ¼ of a red bell pepper just because I had it and wanted to use it – it was going bad).  Slice open the side of each red chili then slice off stem and pour out as many seeds as possible and pull out the vein(s) if possible.  After onion is soft, add salt and oregano.  Add garlic and sauté for less than a minute.  Add chicken broth.  Add peppers and let them soak/boil in the stock for 15 minutes.  Move everything to a food processor and process until smooth.

Store extra in the fridge, or freeze.

Makes about 1.5-2 cups

2. To make soup:

  • 2 cups red sauce
  • 1 lb pork, cut into ½-1 inch pieces (most recipes call for pork shoulder, which I can never find… I’ve just been using pork loin chops)
  • 28 oz hominy
  • 8 cups liquid (mix between broth and water)

Steps:

  • Brown pork
  • Add 4 cups liquid (broth)
  • Bring to a boil, then decrease to simmer/low boil
  • Add hominy
  • Add enough more liquid to make it seem like enough
  • Add the red sauce after an hour
  • Cook for however much more time you have.
  • (Note: some recipes call for shredding pork… so you cook the pork for an hour or so and then shred it and then put it back in. I think you just have to cook the hell out of it to get it shreddable…?)

accompaniments:

  • avocado
  • cabbage or lettuce
  • cilantro
  • radish

*“Anaheims are the California produce industry’s name for the New Mexican pod type. When Anaheim chiles turn red and are dried, they are called California chiles. California chiles are mild in comparison to other chiles. Dried California chiles are a shiny dark red. They’re mildly pungent, ranging on average from 2 to 3 out of 10 on the Scoville heat scale.” (from: http://www.specialtyproduce.com/index.php?item=734&name=Dried_California_Chile_Peppers)

 

 

Leave a Reply

