Macaccino

A few weeks ago, I gave up coffee for 8 days. Cold turkey. It felt like it was getting a little out of control, and I’m looking for ways to reduce the stress I’m putting my body under. So I had my last cups on a Thursday. At work on Friday, I thought I was going to murder somebody. My head hurt so bad. I was impatient and not thinking clearly. By the afternoon, my head hurt so badly that I also started to feel nauseated. So I made a cup of tea, and things were much, much better. After that, things were fine. I had another cup of tea a few days later when I had another bad headache, but I don’t think that one was caffeine-withdrawl related, and the tea didn’t help.

The following weekend, I went to New York City to visit friends. Both days I drank two cups of coffee, but I capped it there. Then I went a few more days without drinking any (and didn’t feel any effects of not doing so). Since then, I’ve had some days with coffee, some days without. This morning was the first day that I made coffee at home, and I only drank one cup. I like this. I’m getting more pleasure out of coffee. But… I also like the daily routine of coffee (one I’ve had since 10th grade). So we’ll see. Not sure where this will all end up.

But in the meantime, I’ve been making ‘macaccinos’ occasionally to fill the warm beverage/pleasant routine gap. I’m not sure where I got the idea for these. I think it was unrelated to my not drinking coffee, but I’m not sure. Dan got a bag of maca powder from his sister around the holidays, and he keeps asking me if I’ve been using it (I’m not sure why – it was his gift). But somehow, I came across a couple recipes (including this one, but I think at least one other also that I now can’t recall). (UPDATE: I’m going through some recipes I’ve saved that I want to make sometime and found this one that I saved in December 2016 – well before my husband received his maca powder gift. I’d entirely forgotten about it!)  They were all pretty much the same – some type of milk, maca powder, some sweetener, and cocoa powder. I’ve been using:

  • 1 cup or so of So Delicious unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1/2 tsp maca powder
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 scoop Vital Proteins Collagen Peptides
  • sprinkle of cinnamon at the end sometimes

I heat up the milk in my Ninja single serve cup in the microwave (I’ve also used the stovetop), add all the other ingredients except the cinnamon, blend it all together, then pour into a mug and sprinkle with cinnamon. It’s lovely.

fullsizeoutput_aab1

Leave a Reply

