Fast Breakfasts

I’ve been missing pre-prepped breakfasts – especially on mornings that I go to the gym, get home at 7:40, and have to be showered and dressed to take Gabriel to school around 8am so that I can be back at my work desk by 8:30am. (Hungry, or having shoveled something quickly down my throat.) So I’ve tried a few things recently, and this is my report out.

Take 1: Chia Seed Oatmeal

On a flight recently, I saw a recipe for chia seed oatmeal and decided to adapt it and give it a try. I’ve made – and liked – chia seed pudding in the past, but it’s never really become a regular part of my mix.

Because of the steel cut oats, this recipe is not as fast as just chia seed pudding. But it’s relatively hands off.

Here’s what I did:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 4 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 2 scoops (40 grams) collagen peptides
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup or other sweetener
  • 1 cup frozen mango, chopped

Steps

  1. Cook steel cut oats. I did 4 minutes pressure cook on high in the Instant Pot (natural release for at least 20 minutes), with water with a ratio of 3:1.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients to the pot with the cooked oats.
  3. Distribute mixture among 4 jars, glasses, or other containers. I used handled drinking jars, and put lids on them.
  4. Place in fridge for at least 4 hours. Up to a week?

Okay, so the truth? I didn’t love it 😬. I ended up eating it and it sort of grew on me, but I’m not going to make it again. There was something slightly bitter. I was able to cover it up with some extra syrup or jam on a few mornings, but it didn’t go away. So, not adding this one to the mix.

Take 2: Morning Glory Muffins

My mom has made muffins in the past with lots of seeds and dried fruit in them, and I think Gabriel remembers them. He saw craisins in the cabinet and asked for muffins with them in them, so I looked up a recipe and found this one.

I used zucchini instead of carrot. I also used paper muffin tin liners for some of these, which I really think I just must never do again. I always end up losing half the muffin due to it sticking to the paper, every time, even though this time I sprayed the cups with a lot of avocado spray. The (well-sprayed) silicone cups I have worked great here.

These were A-plus. I don’t have any pictures. The recipe website is prettier anyway. These will definitely be added to the mix.

Next up to try:

These recipes for egg cups.

Leave a comment